Balance

Remember when birthdays were exciting?  Maybe you were finally turning a double digit.  Or one of the milestones; 16, 18, or 21.  At some point most people start dreading their birthdays.  They don’t want to be 30, 40, or 50.  And then it becomes exciting again… you made it to 89, 99, or maybe 109!

If I could pick one age to be I think it would be my early 40’s.  I’m not there yet but I’m looking forward to it.  Sure it’s fun being a kid but there’s so much that you can’t do yet.  Teen years weren’t all that they were cracked up to be – too many hormones and drama.  I felt like I had no idea what I was doing in my 20’s.  I didn’t go away for college and I had no idea what career I wanted to pursue.  I’m in my late 30’s now.  This decade has been difficult.  There’s been some good – some very, very good.  But most of it has been overshadowed in heavy stuff.

I’m hoping that my 40’s bring balance and contentment. I’m sure I’ll have my share of heartache and struggle but I pray it’s more balanced.  That’s what I’m looking for most of all… more balance in my life.  I know several popular bloggers that choose a word for their year… perhaps I should pick “balance” and spend the rest of my 30’s practicing so that my 40’s will, indeed, be more balanced.

Leave a Reply

