Beautiful

Ah, beauty.  It’s so mysterious and so personal.  What I see as beauty may not be what you see.  And then of course, a beautiful person may not be pretty at all but have a beautiful soul that shines though their exterior.

I find beauty to be comfortable and confident.  Personally I feel comfortable when my clothes fit properly and the style reflects my personality.  I feel confident when my skin is flawless and my hair behaves.  That sounds so shallow but it’s the truth.  I am less confident when I have a blemish or when I’m wearing jeans that are a bit too tight or a top that feels frumpy.

The beauty that I see in others though is different.  I see beauty in different shapes, sizes, colors, genders.  I see beauty as someone being themselves.  Being strong.  Being brave.  Being ordinary.  When the light filters through their hair just so.  When something catches them unaware and they crack up laughing.  When they are quiet.

It is so hard to see the beauty in myself and so much easier to see it in others.  Perhaps that’s the way it should be or we would all be like the Greek god Narcissus.  I think we should tell people when we see their beauty.

Leave a Reply

