Twinkie

I’ve shared here our struggle with The Boy’s temper over the years.  His rage got so bad that we finally went to the Melmed Center for help.  They diagnosed him as being a difficult child.  When we discovered his brain tumor I asked the neurologist if that could be the culprit for the temper tantrums.  He wouldn’t give a definitive answer.  Nor would he confirm if it was causing the migraines. 

After The Boy’s surgery we waited and watched.

And sure enough… the weekly migraines were gone and so were the outbursts!

That was a huge relief.  Except… now he’s a tween.  And all that that entails.  I expect him to be rotten to his sisters, to have growing pains, to be tired and cranky.  I see that happening more and more and it’s so difficult to decide if he’s just being a tween boy or if there is something more sinister going on.  I hate that I have to second guess – that I have to tell myself to stop worrying.  I am grateful that we have regular check-ups with his team of doctors so that I can share these things with them.  They reassure me that they aren’t concerned.  That he is healthy and everything looks great.

I still worry.

One response to “Twinkie

  • Mommy Love

    It’s really hard when you’ve gone through a traumatic experience with a child to learn to relax and not question whether every little thing is the return of what you dread the most. Even though my daughter died 18 years ago and my other children were not even born, I still worry and fret over my two boys. I’m afraid something will happen to them, even though I know they do not have the genetic disorder she had and they are healthy. I’m terrified of losing another child.

    I’m sorry you are going through this and so glad you have a supportive team of doctors to reassure you and settle your fears and worries. I just covered in my Devotions blog about Zephaniah 3:17. Check it out, I wish I had known about it when I thought God had abandoned me and left me alone to suffer after my daughter’s death. He’s actually waiting to settle your worries and fears and share His love with you.

    Karen
    dailydevotionswithkaypanda.wordpress.com
    mommyloveblog.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

