The Usual

If you’re anything like me you have a hard time ordering anything new at a restaurant.  We all have our favorites.  Dishes that we know are delicious.  We order them up just the way we want them:  Salad hold the lettuce, tomatoes, onions.  (Yes, I have heard that ordered.  I probably forgot a few other things he doesn’t like on his “salad”. Hee hee)  Our meal will not disappoint.  I mean, what if we dared to order something new and we didn’t like it??  How sad. 

Maybe you aren’t like me.  Maybe you’re adventurous and like to try new foods.  You order things like a Big Mac with Egg or a Lamar bar with raspberry filling.  (shudder!)  You can enter any restaurant and have a dozen favorite dishes.  Kudos to you.  Oh, and can I just try a bite of that?

The same holds true when I walk into a coffee shop.  I always order the same thing.  I pretend to look at the menu.  But every time it’s an iced caramel macchiato with extra drizzle (fo’ shizzle).  I say that last part in my head every single time too.  During the winter I actually have a small rotation of drinks: caramel brulee, caramel apple cider, or a hot caramel macchiato.

Then a funny thing happened.  I was gifted an espresso machine.  After some trial and error I found just the right vanilla and caramel and espresso and I now make my favorite drink at home.  Maybe a little too often, the jeans are getting snug.  But that’s not the funny thing.  No.  Now, on the rare occasion, when I find myself in the coffee shop I find myself ordering things like a salted caramel mocha or a chocolately chip frappeccino or a vanilla rooibus tea soy latte slightly sweetened.

So how about you?  What’s your usual?

Leave a Reply

