MySpace

I sat in my family room last night and just looked around and smiled.  This is the first time that I have truly decorated my space in a style that I LOVE.  Seeing everything just come together has been so fun.  The wall is down!  (the wall between the dining room and family room)  My hubby hung the chandelier and moved the light switches.  One wall is painted and ready for the board and batten that we will eventually line all the walls with.  We have two new (to us anyway) wingback chairs, a new bench, new slipcover for the couch, new curtains and an old funky storage piece with a zillion little drawers. 

The bench that we picked up for a steal  on Craigslist is parked in the entry way.  It’s going to serve as a drop point for the kids.  They can store their backpacks underneath and the seat lifts up for storage of smaller items.  Right now it’s a typical wood color.  I have plans to spray paint it black and sand the edges down.  The back of the bench has two open spots that are supposed to be upholstered.  I was reading another blog last night and they linked to a Ty Pennington fabric on fabrics.com.  I clicked through and found the perfect fabric for our bench.  I cannot wait for it to arrive!  Want a peek?

I absolutely love it!  I needed something that tied the red and blue together without being patriotic and I didn’t want stripes.  The best part is that it’s a part of a coordinating set of fabrics so when I’m ready to re-upholster a set of dining room chairs we rescued I’ll be able to find something that coorinates without being too matchy-matchy.

Just a few little projects left to finish up and then I’ll post pictures of the space.  What about you?  Do you have a favorite space in your home?

2 responses to “MySpace

  • Alyssa

    Well, you need to come and do ours because I am totally deficient in the area of decorating!!! 🙂

    • chicachicken

      Alyssa – have you tried http://www.sproost.com ? That was a huge help to me to get an idea of what I do and don’t like. I started right clicking and saving the pictures I liked. Then I went back through them to get a feel for my style and for individual design pieces that I liked. I’ve walked through the elimination process at sproost 6-7 times at least. (you get different pictures) As I surf the web I try to always save pics of pieces that I like so my design folder is growing and giving me lots of choices.

Leave a Reply

