What a Weekend

My house is finally becoming my home.  There are still a zillion and one projects that need to get finished.  There are still a zillion minus one boxes stacked all around the family room.  But it’s home.

I know that I need to post some pictures but for now my descriptions will have to do.  We’ll start in the tiniest room in the house… the master bath.  I decided to go bold and add black accessories; rugs, towels, baskets and curtains.  Love it!  I actually couldn’t find curtains I liked so I bought pillow cases and ribbon and made my own.

Moving on to the master bedroom…  I finally got my curtain wire turned jewelry storage system in place.  We bought the Ikea curtain wire system and rigged it up behind the bedroom door.  I use the little clippies to hang all of my necklaces and bracelets.   Now I can easily see all of my trinkets and baubles.  Love it!  My wonderful hubby also did the manly thing for me.  He hung up my painting over the bed and alongside my candle sconces.  A last minute (brilliant) decision found him outside spray painting my bedside table an antique white.  Which I, of course, sanded and roughed up a bit.  It showcases my new bedside lamp wonderfully.  I know, I know… I need pictures!  Also a last minute design decision… we spray painted three brass butterflies to a flat black.  They are now fluttering around my bathroom door frame.  Love it!

When we moved in here we set up the living room very similar to our living room in VA.  The only difference is that the tv cabinet is to the side of the couch instead of directly in front of it.  That spot is now home to the two bookshelves.  The plan is to add beadboard, crown moulding, and some white paint to the bookshelves but for now they’re the same cherry wood color.  Since I have gone back to work I have found myself walking in the door and dumping my purse on top of the tv cabinet.  Oooh lovely.  Not so much.  This weekend I wanted to find a small table to put beside the cabinet to catch the mail, keys, and purse.  I found the perfect table at a hotel furniture liquidation store.  Actually, I found two.  And a third one will be coming home on Wednesday.  They’re just a simple square table painted black, with some “wear and tear” sanding around the edges.  Love it!  On one of the tables I added a white antique birdcage – compliments from a friend – and a framed picture.  The other one is holding a big glass vase and more framed pictures.  I’m really thinking about painting the tv cabinet white.  That might be next weekend’s project.  Although, we’ll have to empty the t.v. cabinet because it now has a t.v. and surround sound stereo system – again, compliments from a friend.  The hubby loves it!

I’ll work on getting pictures but for now, you can just imagine me with a big smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

