Heavy

My heart is heavy.  My Dad has been diagnosed with class 3 bladder cancer.

Since we’ve moved across the country from my parents I’ve slowly come to realize that my parents are not invincible, they will not  live forever.  Because we do not see them frequently it has become easier to see how they are aging.  That in itself has been difficult – seeing them as human rather than invincible.  But the other part?  The not living forever part…. that’s farther down the road right?

I’m optimistic by nature.  I believe that comes from my faith in a God that’s big.  Hearing that my Dad has cancer put a weight on my heart.  It’s the constant thought that’s running through my head.

Don’t forget to buy eggs and bread.  My Dad has cancer.
Chickie needs to finish up her math.  My Dad has cancer.
My Dad has cancer.  My Dad has cancer.

I’m trying hard to turn that constant ticker tape thought into “praying without ceasing”.

Don’t forget to buy eggs and bread.  My Dad has cancer.  But he’s in Your hands.
Chickie needs to finish up her math.  My Dad has cancer.  Comfort him today Father.  Surround him with love.  Give him peace.

I am reminded constantly of Romans 8:28 “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”   I am clinging to that verse right now.  Not in the hopes that He will heal my Dad but in the knowledge that regardless of the outcome – He will use it for good – that He is already using it to draw me closer to Him.

2 responses to “Heavy

  • Alyssa

    Praying for you and your dad.

  • littletiger

    Loving you and really knowing what you are going through – I wish there were a way I could look ahead and tell you it will be alright – but God knows it all before it even happens and He is there watching over you all and loving you completely!

Leave a Reply

