Home Ec

The closest I ever came to taking a home ec. class in school was a stenciling class I took in junior high.  We had to learn to sew little pillows that we later stenciled with flowers, family trees and random pictures.  I never had a full-on home ec. class to teach me cooking, sewing and whatever else it is they teach you in those classes.  My mother was my teacher.  The summer between 7th and 8th grade was spent sewing clothes – including a zebra striped skirt (aren’t you jealous?!).  I didn’t spend as much time in the kitchen but I did learn the basics.

I still call her up on the phone, “Mom… how do you cook…”  I even saved up my sewing projects for the trip home last summer.  I have a small little machine that hates me but if I absolutely have to fix a hem – I can.  My mom bought me a machine and my dad cleaned it all up.  It’s sitting in Phoenix waiting for my return.  (Of all things to bribe me back with…. LoL)

I was excited this afternoon to discover this blog:
http://www.home-ec101.com/
Oh yeah baby!  I’ve only perused the first page and I’m already in love.  That spinach salad sounds so good.  And the meal planning?  Yay!!  So take a peek for yourself and see what you think.

And if you feel like commenting (looking in the direction of Botetourt… 😉  let me know what home-ec projects you’re working on or want to work on…

2 responses to “Home Ec

  • skillet chic

    OK…here I am…commenting on your blog!!! The spinach salad does sound yummy, except that I can’t have the nuts…but I can have turkey bacon! My other problem is that I’m the only one in my family that will eat this…but that’s ok…I’m learning to fix certain things just for me!

  • littletiger

    Thanks Andi for the website – I love it already – and the neat thing is – Steve and I are setting up the front room for me to work on sewing projects so I can start making more quilts and bags and things … and I also want to get started knitting and crocheting … lots of ideas out there …

Leave a Reply

