Daniel 10

This morning in our SS class we had some very interesting conversations about the Enemy and him minions.  We were discussing the many ways he tries to trip us up and get in the way.  One of my friends brought up something she remembered in the book of Daniel that talked about a prayer being answered but the Angel delivering the answer was waylayed.  This sparked a conversation about just how much “power” do demons have?  Can they – and do they – delay God’s answer to prayers? 

I looked through Daniel until I found the Scripture she was talking about.  It’s from Daniel 10 and here is what it says:

  • 12.
  • Then he continued, “Do not be afraid, Daniel. Since the first day that you set your mind to gain understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard, and I have come in response to them.
  • 13.
  • But the prince of the Persian kingdom resisted me twenty-one days. Then Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me, because I was detained there with the king of Persia.

Exactly what does it mean that the prince of the Persian kingdom resisted the angel?  Was it a demon or a person?  Either way – how does one detain an angel?  By the way, I assume that this is an angel speaking since it was a vision that was only seen by Daniel.

I would love to hear thoughts on this.

At some point while digging through Daniel I followed a footnote back to Genesis 6:4 – which has always been an interesting bit of Scripture to me:

  • 4.
  • The Nephilim were on the earth in those days–and also afterward–when the sons of God went to the daughters of men and had children by them. They were the heroes of old, men of renown.
  • “…the sons of God”  Would those be angels?  They had children – Nephilim – that were heroes and men of renown??  Makes them sound important and yet so little is said about them.  I would also love to know more about this.  Who were they?  Do they still come here and have children? 

    I’ve always taken the philosophy of “major on the major points and minor on the minor point”.  These little side tangents aren’t foundational to my faith but they are still interesting.

    If you feel like chiming in – please do.  Or add your own bit of interesting Scripture.

    4 responses to “Daniel 10

    • littletiger

      I read your post last night and decided to do some more reading – so I started to look at commentaries – it’s interesting how different the commentaries can be … I have some more thinking and praying to do and I’ll chime in again later … but in the meantime – thanks for starting this thought process ….

    • littletiger

      I got more into the commentaries and also read through my study Bible: it seems that there are basically two schools of thought: The first is that the Prince of Persia is just that … Cambyses, who reigned in his father’s absence and worked to hinder the building of the temple – so the angel was sent to resist Cambyses to stop him from interfering with the building of the temple and God’s people – so the angel was sent to work against him – I found this view in both the Geneva Study Bible and The Matthew Henry Commentary – tho I did see it in others. The second school of thought is that tho powerful obstacles detained the angel, Daniel faithfully continued praying and fasting and that God’s messenger eventually arrived – that this can teach us a lesson to not expect God’s answers to come too easily or too quickly. That prayer may be challenged by evil forces so we much pray fervently and earnestly.

      I have to thank you – I dove a lot deeper into discovering what this passage was about, because you tweeked my curiousity … now I’m going to go look up what I can on the Nephelim

      • chicachicken

        Hmmmm so that (‘that’ being part B of your research) raises a few more questions then…. is there Scriptural bases for ongoing repeated prayers? Shouldn’t we trust that God heard us the first time and be patient while waiting for an answer? Or does God require us to faithfully repeat our prayer until He answers? Can demons interfer with prayer? (to God and answers from Him) Should we pray once and then pray for the “safe arrival” of our answer? That really gets into the heart of the discussion we had in our SS class. Just how much power to demons have – esp. in regards to our prayer life and how does that play into the omnipotency of God?

    Leave a Reply

