Sad

I found out tonight that someone whom I had been very close to has passed away.  I met her in the 4th grade and we became best friends while working on a project on the Navajo Indians.  She moved later and we stayed in touch throughout our school years.  She would pop up and it would be like we’d never been apart. 

She tracked me down in college and we went to lunch.  I found out then that she was married and had two children.  Again, we lost touch.  We reconnected later when I was married and pregnant with The Boy.  In fact, we were just living a couple of miles away from each other.  This time we stayed connected.  Unfortunately she and her family moved to Chino Valley and it was harder to get together.  We spent many weekends driving to each other’s houses.  It was during this time that she was diagnosed with MS and she also left her husband. 

I had the opportunity to meet the man that would later become her husband.  Shortly after that she and I made some poor choices let led to a falling out.  She kept in contact with my mother and heard from her that I was pregnant with Beans and had been in the hospital with spinal meningitis.  She called me to see how I was doing.  I was hopeful that perhaps we could make ammends and continue our friendship.  Sadly, that was the last time I spoke to her. 

My heart is breaking tonight as I realize that I missed the chance to tell her again that I was sorry…. to see if we could reconcile and pick up where we left off as we always seemed to do.  My heart is breaking tonight for her 4 children.  The last I knew she was attending church and I pray that she had a genuine relationship with Jesus.  I pray that I will get to see her again – to worship alongside her.  If you would, say a prayer for the Steck family.  And remember, we aren’t promised tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

