Seriously? "Stay in School" is political?

I just don’t get it.  Why is it such a horrible thing for the President of the United States to encourage students to stay in school, do their best and set goals?  Is it any different than Reagan promoting “Just Say No to Drugs”?  Or Barbara Bush promoting reading? 

Obama isn’t my favorite but he’s still the President and he’s still a role model.  I think our kids need plenty of adults that they can look to for encouragement and support.  I may not agree with everything that Obama is doing in the White House but I can stand behind him on this…. Our kids need a good education.  They need to learn to set and achieve goals. 

I will be watching his speech.  I will be letting my children watch his speech.  I want to teach my kids to listen fairly and then hold up what they hear next to Scripture.  If it’s in line – fantastic.  If it’s not in line with what they believe then they need to learn what to do with that too. 

What are your thoughts?  Will you be watching his speech?  Will your children?

5 responses to “Seriously? "Stay in School" is political?

  • Matty

    Hey,

    What is this in response to? Who said “Stay in School”? I’m corn-fused!

    Matt

  • Alyssa

    I agree that it’s not political at all for the president to give a speech to students. I feel that the right is really starting to define themselves as a fringe movement, becoming known for mainstreaming the ridiculous — questioning valid birth certificates, making scenes at town halls, toting guns near the president, suggesting that health care reform would lead to genocide, and now saying that a back-to-school pep talk is brainwashing the next generation.

    I find it sad that they have in fact left a void of truly conservative, truly sensible ideas. No one has REALLY talked about reigning in spending in either major party for over a decade. And the abortion debate has been left to extremists and murderers (blowing up clinics, etc.) rather than continuing in a respectful and reasonable manner. I think the last values voters abandoned ship right after their esteemed leaders decided that torture was now something civilized nations engage in, as long as the end justifies the means.

    All this to say crazy is the new normal, so I’m not surprised at all. Sad, but not surprised.

  • kungfuchicken

    @Matty – this is in regards to all the controversy about the President giving a speech to students. And that the White House has sent out lesson plans for teachers to use to discuss the speech with their students. From my understanding the speech is supposed to encourage students to stay in school, do their best, be respectful, set goals etc… The lesson plans are a little… eh… maybe questionable but I doubt that the same people who are throwing a fit now would throw a fit had it been McCain. The argument is that this is the President abusing his power to indoctrinate the children. I just don’t see it that way.

  • jaime

    i had a chat with chris about it last night that sounded a LOT like your post. if mo wasn’t going to be gone on tuesday, we’d want her to watch it with the same goals as you talked about wanting to do with your kids.

    ridiculous. don’t we have better things over which to unite?

  • kungfuchicken

    Here’s a link to the prepared speech (which has now been delayed thanks to all of the controversy).

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090907/ap_on_go_pr_wh/us_obama_school_speech_text

    Personally, I think it’s a good speech and even if he doesn’t ever get to deliver it I will read it to my kids.

Leave a Reply

