Back to School

Here it is… the beginning of school… All shiny and fresh…

This year we are doing school at home.  I have nothing against public school.  This is just a better fit for us.  The kids enjoy being home, aren’t fond of busy work, learn best when moving around, 2/3 of them like to sleep in a bit.  I have a job that I can do from home, I enjoy teaching and want my kids to have an education centered around Christ, and I have a very supportive hubby.  In fact, he was on board long before I was willing to try homeschooling.

I listened to an interview about learning styles which led me to a book which led me to a curriculum.  Considering the amount of material available I think it’s quite amazing that I found what I was looking for on the first try.  I wanted a units based curriculum that was based on my faith.  Plus I wanted something I could teach to three children on different levels.  Check, check and check!

My hubby teaches the Bible story the evening before.  He reads it from the Bible, explains it, demonstrates any activities and then answers any questions the kids have.  The next morning the kids review the story and we dive into their studies.  Social Studies, Science, Language Arts, Writing and of course, Memory Verse all revolve around our Bible study.  I love that!  We’re free to set our own schedule, pick our own field trips and dilly dally over any subject that catches our fancy. 

Speaking of….  creative writing time is over and it’s time to head off on our science field trip.  We’ll be gathering stones and soil to examine and classify later.  I’ve picked a park that has a stream and water mill.  We’ve driven by the park several times but never stopped.  I can’t wait to explore with the kids and see what we can find!

One response to “Back to School

Leave a Reply

