Houston we have T – 35 hours…

<Disclaimer:  I am appreciative that my hubby has a secure job.>

But.  The last 6 weeks have not been fun.  The team that my hubs works on is responsible to set up new displays in the stores and to make sure that each department is set up the correct way.  Year round it’s a steady job that he loves doing.   Twice a year – spring and fall – they have to do a massive re-set to get all of the new seasonal products displayed.  In order to get this done in a timely manner all of the district teams work together going store to store until they’re all complete.  His district includes a few cities here in VA and a few cities in NC.  Which brings me to the not-so-fun part of the last 6 weeks.  Each week he worked four 10 hour days and then had a three day weekend.  He would leave Sunday night and the kids and I would see him again sometime Thursday evening.  In theory it was nice that he had three days with the family but in reality he was so exhausted that he slept quite a bit of it away.

This is the last week!!!  Today and tomorrow he’s actually in a neighboring town so he is able to come home at night.  I am so glad that the light at of the tunnel is only a step away now!!

I’ve learned a few things…  First, I hate being a single mom and I have a whole new appreciation for single parents who have to do this 24/7 365 days a year.  Second, I get a lot (and I mean A LOT) more done around the house and it stays a lot (A LOT) cleaner when he’s not here.  Hmmm… guess I can’t blame it all on the kids any more.  Finally, nothing outside gets done without him here.  I’m willing to pitch in and help with the yardwork but I’ve discovered I’m not one to jump in and do it myself.

I’m glad it’s over and I’m not even going to think about the fall re-sets!  (at least not much)

2 responses to “Houston we have T – 35 hours…

  • littletiger

    Congrats and I’m glad that he’ll be home again – I can’t even imagine what it would be like to be without my husband 4 days a week 6 weeks in a row. You are an amazing woman and you are married to an amazing man! I miss you friend sooooooo much!

  • jaime

    so glad that its almost over! miss you 😉

Leave a Reply

