Going Green

You can’t turn on a t.v. or surf the web without seeing ads about “going green”.  It’s been the latest buzz word and all the hip people are doing it.  Unlike other trends this is one fad that I hope sticks around!

I have found that I am very passionate about the products we are using and the food we are eating.  I often wonder about the increase in diseases and cancers… has it only been that recent technology has made reporting cases easier or is it because of what we’re exposed to that has caused the huge increase of these horrible things?  I’m voting that it’s the latter. 

I don’t remember where I heard this but every family will be touched by cancer.  I know several people that have braved the battle and yes, even in my own family have we had to watch it ravage a loved one.  Why?  What are we doing that’s causing this?  We’re told that our products are okay, we can use microwaves, tanning beds, cellphones, and we can eat high fructose corn syrup because it’s “all natural”…  It makes me sick.

The burden isn’t all on the manufacturers, I do have a choice.  But they haven’t made it easy.  If you want to be “green” you’re going to have to pay the price.  Natural cleaners are expensive.  Grass fed beef?  Good luck.  Milk without hormones… pesticide free vegetables… recycled packaging? 

I would love (LOVE!) to move my family to a farm and grow our own food, raise our own meat.  Is it economical?  Sadly, no.  With our budget I am doing the best I can to provide safe commodities for my family.  I think the ideal plan is to find some sponsors (maybe 7th Generation or Method) that will pay us to live on a farm and document (via blog of course 😉  no reality shows for me) how it’s going.

If you’re interested here are a few things that have been informative:
http://www.storyofstuff.com/
http://www.kingcorn.net/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_Size_Me

How about you?  Are you concerned about being green??  What kinds of things are you doing to be green?

p.s.  I recently heard about a conference that 7th Generation hosted.  One of the bits of info that was shared… 10 individuals had their blood tested and they found traces of over 200 chemicals in their blood.  The individuals tested?  Newborn babies.  They drew the blood from the umbilical cords.

4 responses to “Going Green

  • Matt D.

    If they are available where you live going to farmer’s markets is an easy way to go green without spending a lot of money. Farmer’s markets offer fresh local products that are often organic at prices that are relatively comparable to grocery stores.

  • Erika

    All I have to say is: enviro-vid.

  • Alyssa

    WE LOVE making our own cleaning supplies — cheaper, safer AND greener! Google for recipes that work for your family. We do all-purpose cleaner, window cleaner (yes, it really doesn’t leave streaks!), dish detergent, and funiture polish. All from stuff in our pantry. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

