1998

Dear Babe,

Today we celebrate 10 years of marriage and 11 years of togetherness.  These 10 years went by in a flash and at the same time these 10 years contain an eternity.  I can still feel the butterflies of standing in the foyer with my dad…. waiting for the music to cue our entrance…. that long walk down the aisle – smiling at you the whole time… your eyes held mine….

Our time together includes 3 houses, 2 apartments, 3 dogs, 1 chinchilla, 2 cats, countless fish, 4 rats, how many cars??, 1 cross country move, 1 foreign country, several theme parks – including churro stealing seagulls, extended family issues, 3 baptisms – including yours, secrets, 4 churches, ‘only two more weeks’, volleyball, debt, gunracks, dancing, lots of different facial hair, tattoos, pregnancies, 3 beautiful children, and a promise to love.

We have been through a lot babe.  Some bad but most of it good.  And it’s getting better and better.  I love being married to you.  As sappy as it sounds, you complete me.  You are my constant companion.  My creative consultant.  My honey-doer.  My safe place.  My cheerleader.  My support.  My love.  My partner in crime.  You make me laugh.  You get me.  You put up with me. 

I cannot wait to see what the next 10 years bring.  I cannot wait to grow old with you.  (except for the thought of a naked old man sharing my bed!)  Thank you for being who you are.  Thank you for 10 years of marriage.

I love you.
Me

One response to “1998

Leave a Reply

