No more wallflowers

How many of you out there are lurkers?  C’mon, admit it…  You know you are.  You read blogs and you don’t leave comments.  You remain anonymous… just a little blip on the stat counter.

Hi, my name is Andrea and I’m a lurker.  Join me in the 12 step program to leave lurking behind and join the blogging community!  Ok, so maybe it isn’t a 12 step program.  More like a 3 step… 1) read a blog 2) type a comment 3) hit submit!  I have a long list of blogs that I like to read.  Some are daily reads and some are occassional.  I’ve been a lurker on most of them.  But not any more!  I’ve stepped up to the plate and left comments… and I’ve actually gotten the opportunity to email with some of my favorite blog authors. 

It’s your turn.  I know you’re out there.  I can see the stat counter and I know that the 5 or 6 of you that comment are not checking my blog 8 times a day.  So here’s the deal.  Leave a comment.  I’ll even make it easy….

I’ve picked up a copy of The Shack – thanks to my friend Matt for recommending it.  I’ve barely cracked it open… I think I’m on page 4.  Tell me what you’re reading these days….

8 responses to “No more wallflowers

  • Matty

    BRAVO!

    I hope you will love “The Shack”. It changed my life… and I don’t EV-ER. say that about a book of Fiction.

    I am a proud NON-lurker of the Kung-Fu Chicken!

    SDG,
    Matty

  • Rachel

    Hi.
    My name’s Rachel and I’m a recovered lurker.
    (hi Rachel)
    I cannot believe I’m not reading anything right now.
    I’m studying my medical transcription course and writing a story about a ring that takes the wearer back in time and preparing for my daughter’s birthday party tomorrow.
    I know that’s not an excuse. I need to pick up a book.
    I swear I’m not one of those people who say “I don’t have time to read.” I’m always reading. ..just not today.
    Watch, in about two weeks you’ll be discussing something very important and I’ll pop in and say “I’m reading such and such.” and you’ll say “huh?”. Unless you remember this moment when I have rambled way too much.

  • zanne

    i’m already not a lurker. but sometimes i do check your blog more than once a day.

    maybe that just makes me a stalker.

  • kungfuchicken

    I just finished The Shack.

    wow.

    From a purely fictional standpoint it’s a good suspense book. However, I realized, after finishing it, that I should’ve read it with a highlighter in hand. There were so many points that just stopped me and made me really think about what my perceptions of God are and how that affects my relationship with Him.

    I’m going to let it sink in for a few days and then re-read it. Something I rarely do with fiction.

    (thank you Matt)

  • Erika

    Thank you for commenting on my blog, non-lurker. You are my favorite of all the commenters I have!
    😉
    E

  • littletiger

    hey sweetie – I know I lurk occasionally – but I try to comment when I can. And thanks for commenting on my blog – I always love to hear from you.

  • jaime

    i’m supposed to read the shack next. i can’t wait! right now i’m reading how people grow. good for where we’re at from a church staff standpoint. but i’m ready for something like the shack.

    miss you!

  • Matthew

    Hey!

    Glad you liked The Shack! I can’t wait to hear more from you on what you found exciting/interesting/challenging/troubling/etc.

    When you post something, I’ll guest post you on my blog and we can have a little discussion group or something.

    Matty

    ps ~ are we gonna see “blog.theguzzos.com” or “kungfuchicken.theguzzos.com” or something anytime soon? i’m still happy to help!

Leave a Reply

