Experimenting

I have always wanted to go to Africa.  I’d love to go on a safari and see all the animals – from a safe distance of course.  I want to see people living off the land – people who are living simply.  I wonder what it smells like.  What sounds do they hear at night?  Is the food bland or spicy? 

I have a friend that’s been there.  She’s agreed to go back with me someday.  And I’ll go to the amazon with her.  (T – Don’t think I’ve forgotten our deal just because I moved across the country!)

Last January I met up with friends in Florida – specifically to hit up Epcot on her birthday.  It was there that I discovered Morocco.  It’s not the Serengeti I’ve dreamed of but it is still Africa.  Oh how I fell in love with the Epcot Morocco.  The rich, vibrant colors, the old world style, and open markets drew me in.  I was bummed that I couldn’t find any Moroccan food at Epcot. 

Not to worry.  This weekend I found a recipe for Moroccan chicken with couscous.  Ooooh, an experiment!  I’m always leary of trying new recipes on the kids because I hate to waste the food but this recipe came out of a parenting magazine and it just looked so good.

I wasn’t disappointed.  The chicken was awesome!  Chickie turned her nose up at it until The Boy declared he loved it.  Not to be outdone she decided she liked it too.  I couldn’t find the tomato-lentil couscous that the recipe called for so I had to use plain – which was a little on the bland side.  And of course all the kids balked at the spinach.  After much coaching they tried a bite and decided it wouldn’t kill them and they each finished it without too much more encouragement.

Overall it gets a thumbs up.  We’ll be adding it to our recipe rotation but probably with a different side dish.

 

3 responses to “Experimenting

  • Alyssa

    Ummmm… Recipe, please? Looks yummy!!!

  • kungfuchicken

    1 tsp. ground cumin
    1/2 tsp. kosher salt
    1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
    4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves (I used tenderloin strips)
    1 Tbs. vegetable oil

    Stir together the cumin, salt and cinnamon. Sprinkle over chicken. Heat the oil in a large skillet on medium. Add chicken and cook 8-12 minutes or until done, turning once.

  • littletiger

    That does look yummy I think I would add almond slivers and golden raisins and possibly some allspice for more flavor. And I am holding you to that agreement – I’ll go back with you to Africa if you go with me to Brazil – since my husband doesn’t want anything to do with the Amazon river.

Leave a Reply

