What goes around, comes around

Since my husband and I have been married we’ve had a total of eleven cars over ten years (eleven if you count dating).  Three of those cars we were fortunate enough to be able to give to friends; one to a stay-at-home mom with no vehicle of her own, one to a family of four with no vehicle at all, and one to a newlywed couple that needed to upgrade from a 2 seater to a 4 seater.  I loved being able to bless other families in need. 

Of those eleven cars I think the most we had at one time was five – granted not all five were running at the time.  Now we’re down to one running vehicle and one that we just like to tow around the country because it looks pretty sitting in our driveway.  Ahem.  We’re a one vehicle family.  I used to wonder how families could survive with only one car.  Now I know.  You make sacrifices.  You stay home.  You plan your days, your routes.  You coordinate your schedules.  It’s been an adjustment but we’ve made do.

There are several used car lots on the main drag.  They have some great deals on cars and it’s so tempting to just swing by to take a look.  So tempting to get a loan.  So tempting to have the freedom that a second car would afford.  That freedom would come with a monthly ball and chain though.  We’ve managed this far – we’ll keep on managing.

Today I was watching my friends’ preschooler while they both went to doctor’s appointments.  When they came back to pick up their son they told us that wanted to bless us with a second vehicle.  It’s nothing fancy, nothing pretty but it runs and we can have it on Tuesday.  Wow.  It’s so humbling to be on this side of generousity.

I am continuously reminded that God provides.  Just now I am making the connection – this past Wednesday night I was teaching the kids Philippians 4:19 – that God provides all our needs according to His glory.  Wow. 
I am humbled. 
I am greatful. 
I am blessed.

6 responses to “What goes around, comes around

Leave a Reply

