It's Saturday

We’re having macaroni and cheese.  As I was standing at the stove, stirring the noodles, I had flashbacks to high school.  One of my best friends in high school was Sara Madderom.  (Sidenote:  She’s one of those friends that I’ve lost touch with over the years and I wish I hadn’t let it happen.)  She only lived a couple of blocks away.  I had known Sara since elementary school but since she went to a private school and I went to a public one I didn’t know her very well and we didn’t hang out too much.  Then, in high school, I started working in children’s ministry and she started too.  Fast forward two years and we both transferred to the same private school.

All of these memories of her came flooding back as I finished up making the mac ‘n’ cheese.  There was a summer in there somewhere that she and I spent every Saturday making mac ‘n’ cheese together.  We’d make up a box or two and then sit outside and do logic puzzles together.  Or we’d go swimming.  Or we’d find some other activity to laze away our Saturday afternoon.

It’s funny how our memories can be tied to something as simple as noodles and cheese.

3 responses to “It's Saturday

  • jaime

    isn’t she a teacher at boulder creek? didn’t i hear that somewhere…or am i making things up again?

  • kungfuchicken

    Oh! You’re right! She’s does some sort of therapy at the school! Ding-ding-ding, you get bonus points for remembering that!

  • Kat

    Aaaawe. Isn’t that nice to have memories like that?! I wasn’t that close to Sarah, but she was loads of fun. I always wonder what happened to her.

Leave a Reply

