Snails and puppy dog tails

This isn’t going to come as a shock to anyone… boys are totally different creatures.  They may tolerate playing ‘Polly Pockets’ with their sisters as long as they get to drive the cars but deep down inside they’re dreaming of dumping Polly and drag racing to the nearest race track!!

I have such a sweet little boy.  He’s the middle child and when his little sister was born he was only two.  He had a choice… he could be the little brother or he could be the big brother.  Most days he chooses to be the big brother.  I know that someday he’s going to be an excellent father. 

He has an internal gage that monitors his testosterone level.  When he’s had enough of us girly-girls he has to go find something manly to do.  Today he saw me tying up the garbage bag and he offered to take it out to the curb for me.  I watched him through the window as he struggled with the large bag.  He got a good hold on the bag and hefted it up and into the can.  John Wayne came swaggering back into the house with a huge grin on his face. 

That must have boosted his levels because he hightailed it to the backyard with the dogs.  He was literally screaming like a madman while running in circles – the dogs chasing him.  100% raw boy.  It’s beautiful. 

I love my girls but I am so blessed to have a boy!

3 responses to “Snails and puppy dog tails

  • littletiger

    I have to admit I miss you and your kids sooooo much. The boy had grown a lot when we saw him at Christmas and I imagine he’s growing by leaps and bounds right now. Take care sweetie!

  • Dan

    Mmmmmm … hefting garbage. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve done something similar in the last 2 weeks. I guess it never gets old.

    Although I have to be careful not to kill my tiny dog when I play with her…

  • Kat

    That’s awesome! See how manly he feels in 6 years, when you ask him to do that. haha (jk) You have such a great son! He really is going to be a great man, someday.

Leave a Reply

