Table for one please

Ever notice how easy it is to justify something you’re doing?  “This really isn’t in my budget but it’s on sale right now.” or “I had a long day today.  I’ll work out tomorrow.” or “I’m a good christian, I don’t need to go to church.”

I fell into that last lie for a long time.  I mean, c’mon, I worked in children’s ministry for most of my life.  I’d done missions trips.  I went to a christian high school.  So what if I don’t go to church on Sundays for awhile?!

During that same time I had this friend that was praying for me.  (thanks friend)  She was constantly inviting me to come check out this new church.  Finally we did.  And it became our church family.  It was at that church that we really experienced connection and community.  We learned what it meant to really be part of a church family.

Today, thousands of miles away, we’re at a new church, working to settle in and begin to form new friendships.  This morning our Pastor was going over Acts 2 and the importance of connection and community.  It made me think of members of my family that don’t go to church.  They’re good people.  They believe in God.  They don’t need church.  Oh but they don’t know.  They don’t know what they are missing.  They don’t know who’s missing them.  They don’t know how much more God wants to bless them. 

I’m following my friend’s lead…  I’m praying for them.  And you can bet I’ll be inviting them to come check out this church – even from across the country.

One response to “Table for one please

  • Matthew

    Andi –

    Thanks so much for this… I was away from church (and GOD) for such a long time… there is a change that happens when you realize your faith is your adult, mature faith and not the faith of your parents or your youth… it’s really very powerful!

    keep praying… my parents and family and friends prayed for me for a dozen years and GOD finally dragged me back!

    SDG,
    Matty

Leave a Reply

