When it rains, it pours

My family moved to Arizona in 1983 and I lived there until this year… that’s 24 years of living in a desert.  Now I’m living somewhere where water falls from the sky.  I love it.  It has been raining here for the past four days.  Today it hasn’t rained very hard but it has been pretty steady.  I jokingly wrote to my friend that perhaps we ought to start building an ark. 

Bad idea…

You only need an ark if it floods.  And flood it has.  There was a giant puddle taking up at least a quarter of our basement.  Notice I said was a giant puddle.  I used our carpet steamer to suck up all the water.  I have no idea how many buckets of water I dumped out but I can tell you that it only took two pushes of the vacuum before the bucket was full.  The funny thing is the basement has been completely dry – no drips or leaks anywhere.  Before dinner I went down to turn on some lights for the kids and everything was fine.  By 9pm we had Lake Guzzobeflooded.  It hardly rained between 6 and 9 so where in the world did all that water come from?!

I am thankful that we found it before we went to bed.  I am thankful that we have indoor/outdoor berber carpeting and no padding.  I am thankful that the kids’ toys were all cleaned up.  I am thankful that none of the old ceiling tiles that are stacked up down there got went and soggy.  I am thankful that the kids’ computer didn’t get damaged.  I am thankful that it was the quarter of the basement that would do the least amount of damage to personal belongings.  I am thankful that we have a steam cleaner with excellent suckage.  (yes I know it’s suction but suckage is so much more fun to say)  I am thankful that the water hasn’t continued to pour in from its mysterious source.  I am thankful that I was already recording Thursday night t.v.  I am thankful that the side of the basement with all of our boxes only got a trickle of water.  I AM THANKFUL THAT MY CRAFTROOM IS DRY. 

********************** UPDATE ***********************************************

It is now 10:50 Friday morning.  We’ve had solid heavy rain since last night and the basement remains dry.  Hmmmm…. mysterious.  We were 90% sure the Lake came from the rain and 10% that it came from our shower.  Since we’ve had a lot more rain and no more leaking it makes me suspect the shower even more.  When my hubby wakes up this afternoon we’ll be taking down some of the paneling in the basement to see if we can get a better picture of what’s going on.

In the meantime I’m thinking about renting out my backyard to the World Wide Mud Wrestling federation.

One response to “When it rains, it pours

  • littletiger

    Those are all things to be thankful for – I can remember times in Iowa when the same thing would happen – you might want to invest in a sump pump – that’s what we used to keep the water down in the basement – and it worked – good luck today – and I hope it doesn’t flood again.

Leave a Reply

