Update and such

I’m sitting here, near tears, in complete awe of our God.  I sat down to blog and knew what topics I wanted to cover.  No sooner did I sit down then I received visitors at the door.  And what’s playing on Pandora right now?  Passion’s “You Never Let Go”.  Let me back up…

About two weeks ago I was thumbing through the newspaper and came across a job ad for a Children’s Director position at a local church.  I dismissed the job.  Or so I thought.  It kept coming back and coming back and coming back.  My hubby and I decided to go check out the church two Sunday’s ago.  I enjoyed the church service but the boys in the family weren’t too impressed.  I thought that was the end of it.

I have continued to think about the job and the church.  We received two nice letters in the mail from the church welcoming us and thanking us for coming to visit.  It was still on my mind.

Tonight while washing dishes I felt convicted for dismissing the church so easily.  Worship isn’t about me.  It’s about Him.  With my hands still full of soap I begain to dialog – “I’m sorry for my arrogance, please forgive me.  I will go where you send me.” 

My intent was to blog about worship when I sat down at my computer and I heard a knock on the front door.  (sidenote:  I love that we don’t have a doorbell.)  I have a bunch of stuff on Freecycle and have had people picking up stuff all week.  I expected to see someone here to pick up stuff.  Instead I was greeted by two older men.  From the church.  I knew right away that God was asking me “Will you go where I send you?”  I could feel it in my heart.  I stood on my front porch chatting with these men and praying like mad!  I asked about the position and they said it hadn’t been filled and they didn’t even have any prospects.  “Yes, Lord, I will go where you send me.”

I honestly don’t know where this is going to end up.  It doesn’t matter.  What God wants from me is my obedience.  My dear friend taught me that even delayed obedience is still disobedience.  “I’m sorry Lord for not obeying the first time I heard You call.”  I am so thankful for His grace, His forgiveness and His open arms.  “Thank you Father.”

My update blog is going to have to wait.  I have some praying and listening to do 🙂

3 responses to “Update and such

Leave a Reply

