Content

Yesterday was a beautiful day.  It rained all day.  I grew up in the desert and I think that left a longing in my heart for rain.  I have to be in a pretty foul mood to consider calling a rainy day dreary.  I love the smell and sound of falling rain.

I had a big pot of homemade chicken noodle soup simmering on the stove.  I sat curled up in a comfy chair with a brand new book and a vanilla latte.  It was such a peaceful, mellow day.  Even after the kids came home from school it remained calm. 

Today, however…

Today dawned bright and sunny.  The sky is a brilliant blue and there’s a constant breeze fluttering the leaves.  So different from yesterday but just as beautiful. 

The kids have pent up energy that they’re burning up on their bikes in the backyard.  The usual neighborhood gang is over.  I’m sitting at my table, doors open, listening to the kids’ laughter and the swirling leaves.

My heart feels so full.  I am content in this moment.  And it is wonderful.

3 responses to “Content

  • littletiger

    WOW!!! What a wonderful description – it makes me want to move to Virginia now too – especially after the awful, hot summer we’ve had here in Phx. I can’t wait for the fall to actually get here. I miss the cooler weather and the chance to actually have our house open for fresh air – oh well – it’ll happen soon. Later gater.

  • Alyssa

    I’m with Tracie, we’ll be moving shortly. No fair posting stuff like this in September, which everyone knows is the “Why do we live in Phoenix again?” month….

  • mm0204

    Sounds like a wonderful day… We’ve started our annual 6 weeks or so of desert “Autumn”… Clouds and rain and cooler temperatures… I think it’s only supposed to be 85 today! and 78-ish tomorrow! I’m wearing my first long-sleeved shirt of the season!

    Take care…

    SDG,
    Matty

Leave a Reply

