How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

I am a blogaholic and I’m not ashamed to admit it.  There are a handful of blogs that I read daily.  Or I would read daily if they would post daily.  It’s frustrating to be left hanging for a day or two so in the spirit of understanding I’m trying to blog daily for all my faithful readers.  All three of you 😉  You’re so pretty!  (I know there’s more of you out there.  I can see the numbers.  You just aren’t leaving comments.  Those people?  Not so pretty.  Leave a comment people, show some support!)

Why do I read blogs?  Well first of all I am a reader.  From the moment I first learned to read I fell in love with books.  My parents were wise and encouraged all three of us kids to read by setting our bedtime at 8:00 but we could stay up until 8:30 if we were reading.  What child is not going to fall for that?!  I get to stay up later??  Yes!  My brother, sister and I are all avid readers.  (Thank you Mom and Dad!)  So I love to read.  I have book club cards, discount cards and library cards.  Which are great.  But there’s still that factor of having to go out and get the books.  The internet is convenient.  I can find something new to read without ever getting dressed! 

Second of all, the blogs I read remind me that I am not alone in this world.  My experiences are not all entirely unique.  The author of my favorite blog just recently moved across the country with her kids to live in the south.  Hmmmm.  Sound familiar?  Her trials and tribulations of moving and settling in to a new environment with kids are so parallel to my own that I have comfort in knowing that I’m not a freak because it’s hard to leave the house on my own thank-you-very-much!

And finally, I like to read blogs because they open my eyes to a world outside of my own.  I’ve learned new things – like new uses for Ikea furniture, or how people handle a similar situation in different manners.  Blogs have made me laugh, made me cry and made me think.

I’m always on the hunt for new and interesting blogs to read.  If you have a favorite or three please do share.

2 responses to “How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

  • zanne

    you are a better person than i am.

    i read blogs (and yes, i TRY to read many of them every day… which can be pretty disappointing when people don’t post very often. on the other hand,
    i feel little obligation myself to POST every day… double standard, anyone?). but i digress. i read them because:

    1) i’m nosy. i’m fascinated at what’s happening in other people’s lives; it’s like looking into their living room windows in a socially acceptable way.
    2) it helps me keep up with what’s happening in my friends’ lives. (see #1 above)
    2) it makes me feel like i have more friends when i know what’s going on in the lives of people i’ve never met. (see #2 above)
    3) it holds off doing the housework for a while longer.
    4) it holds off having to create another blog post for a while longer. (see paranthetical remark above)

    keep blogging! i need to feed the addiction!

  • Tracy

    Hey sweetie – I’m one of those that stops to read – but doesn’t comment much – so I decided to comment – I love reading what you are doing everyday – it’s a way to keep up with you – miss you tons too!!!

Leave a Reply

